Patriot Guard Riders

I have to say a BIG THANK YOU to the Patriot Guard Riders.  I had a fundraiser going to try to come up with the money to pay for the installation of my Dad’s headstone and they stepped up to the plate and used funds in the Help on the Homefront Fund and made it happen.  I just can’t wait now for better weather so the cemetery can get it installed so I can see it.

The PGR is a group of mainly motorcyclists but some drive cars/trucks that really want to honor and respect the Honorably Discharged Veteran’s, Fallen Heroes, Police, EMT’s, and Fire Fighter’s.

What we do is attend the funeral services of fallen American heroes as invited guests of the family. Each mission we undertake has two basic objectives:

  •   Show our sincere respect for our fallen heroes, their families and their communities.
  •  Shield the mourning family and their friends from interruptions created by any protestor or group of protestors.

Patriot Guard RidersDad cardDad plaque from PGR

Ever since I came across these wonderful bunch of men and women 5-6 years ago my life has been changed.  My first mission with them was a group of Navy people had come home from deployment and we stood a flag line for them.  The rest of my missions have all been visitations, funerals, and memorial services.

I know it’s really different when you are on the other side of that flag line and you are the one receiving the services of the PGR. When my Daddy died we didn’t have people for pall bearers and some of my PGR brothers stepped up to the plate and offered to be pall bearers.  They present each family with a lovely plaque like the one shown above and a card like the one shown above and then they fly a flag at the funeral home and then present that flag to the deceased persons family.

They really go above and beyond when it comes to honoring our Veteran’s when they pass away.

Leave a Reply

